National Built Heritage Center
 
Introduction

Saudi Commission for Tourism and Antiquities (SCTA) has reached a very advanced position in its dealings and initiatives related to urban heritage. The kingdom of Saudi Arabia is a big country with vast and various invaluable historical towns and villages and traditional buildings, that should be kept and invested for future generations. SCTA, during the last decade, has developed many programs in order to achieve this goal; it is time to bring together all efforts and programs under one umbrella to benefit from the available human and financial resources and focus the responsibility into one entity.

The initiative of HRH (Prince Sultan bin Salman bin Abdulaziz Al Saud) the President of SCTA to establish a “Center for the National Built Heritage” comes as one of the important transition steps that could keep pace with the current need of the Kingdom to establish organized entities with clear responsibilities towards urban heritage, like many of the countries that started early in preserving cultural treasures and heritage. The Kingdom, with its geographical and cultural diversity and its history, is one of the most important culture incubators worldwide, the Arabian Peninsula is the cradle of old civilizations, and a geographical / human platform or ground that expresses the ability of people to challenge and overcome the difficult circumstances. Urban experiences of the Arabian Peninsula inhabitants is one of the most important human experiences, which deserves to remain n to be a witness on the ability, innovation and creativity of the people of the area.

The Center is defending a cultural and economic “issue", it seeks to preserve, develop and revive urban heritage. It contributes also to the current and future social structure and provides a livelihood for those who inhabit and live in it. This multifaceted issue, carried by the center, is an important turning point in the construction and confirmation of national identity. It is not limited to mud and stone that form traditional building, but it extends to the "story of place." The national unity started from these places that we seek to maintain. The stories of parents and grandparents and their experiences with life and their attempts to overcome the difficult conditions are stored in the corners of such buildings, walls, the alleys, rail, yards, and mosques. However, we are aware that the story of the place should continue and should not be stopped at a specific time, but must be extended to form three-dimensional stories that goes back to the past, shows in the present and extends into the future.

The issue of Built Heritage defended by the Center, has no ready-made solutions, but it is based on a deep understanding of the phenomenon of "urbanization", so it is forming like a “thinking cell” that is capable of dealing with the urban phenomenon in all of its aspects, not as a group of technicians who have the knowledge and experience in the restoration of heritage buildings. The Center also seeks to build a dialogue atmosphere and environment based on the concept of "social development" through attracting intellectuals who have a high impact on their local communities to be active and influential in the preservation of urban heritage. The Urban Heritage Center seeks to create a culture that can be called “the culture of urban heritage" which will be the starting point that creates "community awareness" of heritage value, because our primary goal is to make the citizen the first guard of the urban heritage in our country.

The Center, in general, is concerned with preserving and studying the built heritage, and presenting it to the local regional and world communities in a distinguished scientific manner that demonstrates the potential of such heritage and how it could be used and invested. At the same time, it confirms an important cultural status which is "how to live history," which means that the urban heritage must become part of our daily lives through reviving social and economic life at heritage sites. The revival of these sites to find a heritage that develops and evolves to keep pace with our economic and cultural aspirations as well as expectations is a part of the great objective of this Center.

We also should emphasize here that the Center of the National Built Heritage seeks to be a national expert home in the various areas of urban heritage, both research and science, through the establishment of a national library that specializes in urban heritage, the publication of scientific research on urban heritage of the Kingdom, the organization of forums, conferences, workshops and the implementation of training programs. It also seeks to be an expertise leader of development and investment of urban heritage through the participation in the development and investment of urban heritage sites in various regions of the Kingdom without causing an imbalance in the authenticity and value of historical artifacts. The technical expertise is one of these areas, where the Center must be a technical expertise home in the field of urban heritage through the development of local materials (mud and stone, for example) and encouragement of traditional builders and traditional building artifacts. Thus, the final stage that the Center wants to reach is open and endless, if we consider that the heritage is alive among us, a part of our present and future culture and a source of renewable livelihood, then this means that our targets do not have time limits.

Vision

Preserve, Develop and Invest in urban heritage without losing its originality and impact on the confirmation of national identity, in general, and the character building of the Saudi city at present and in the future.

Mission
  • Create a systematic organization that deals with urban heritage development and use available human and financial resources in SCTA.
  • Make the Center a national expert home in technical fields and revival of heritage sites.
  • Attract concerned people in urban heritage of all fields and groups of the community to create an intellectual and economic environment that is concerned of the future of urban heritage in the kingdom.
  • Develop the urban heritage at a local level and spread a social awareness about its value as an important local culture source and a renewable economic source.

Tasks of the Center

1. Documentation, classification and registering urban heritage:
  • Develop a comprehensive plan to the National Register of Urban Heritage project. The project will include: recording and documenting urban heritage and build a national database that enables researchers, investors and interested parties to have access to all information and documents required to deal with urban heritage.
  • Develop policies that preserve urban heritage and reuse it to ensure a life of new social and economic fit with the current needs while maintaining the original components and elements.
  • Monitor the implementation of these policies and cooperation with all entities in the state in order to achieve this protection.
2. Studies and Publications:
  • Work with scientific research centers at local universities and science chairs to make scientific research and studies on the national urban heritage.
  • Conduct field surveys concerned with documenting the urban heritage and study its social, cultural and technical structure.
3. Rehabilitation, Development and Investment of Urban Heritage:
  • Study the urban heritage sites in the Kingdom and schemes "general location" for the development of these sites and the development of architectural studies and technical details to keep them.
  • Support the owners of urban heritage sites and build partnerships with them in order to emphasize the fact that the urban heritage is a continuous wealth, as long as it have been preserved, it can be invested and developed.
  • Develop of investment portfolios dealing with the urban heritage in villages and cities of the Kingdom as an area can bring financial returns and the develop standards and means for controlling the reservation of heritage and authenticity.
4. Social Development and Education:
  • Build a social awareness system linking the urban heritage with people, especially those who live in or near historic areas, with emphasis on the delivery of the idea that the urban heritage must be within the daily life, not just ruins or museums to visit. This includes events, visits, media and school and social awareness. It also includes building social partnerships contribute to preserving the heritage and investment.
  • Spread awareness about the cultural and economic importance of urban heritage, and develop a sense of belonging to the cultural heritage of the Kingdom, and activate the relationship of the citizen world heritage landmarks.
  • Consider the maintenance of the national built and urban heritage a collective responsibility of every citizen.
  • Qualify and train of the national cadres in order to preserve and develop heritage urban.
  • Link the urban heritage with architectural education and develop educational programs concerned with urban heritage in all cultural, engineering, and economic (financial and investment) and operating aspects in order to promote awareness of the importance of heritage among specialists, and build national cadres specialized in studying, documenting and preserving urban heritage in all regions of the Kingdom.
  • Hold meetings and conferences on urban heritage in the Kingdom and try to promote a culture of specialized community-based revival of urban heritage and conservation.
  • adopt professional associations in the field of urban heritage and expand its activities at the local level.
5. Technical Support and Development
  • Transfer (social, aesthetic, technical and functional) knowledge related to urban heritage and capacity building of partners in the areas of protection, conservation and rehabilitation.
  • Develop technologies in collaboration with local or international research centers, in order to facilitate the preservation of urban heritage. Make sure to create qualified human resources in various technical areas such as maintenance, restoration and development of materials and construction techniques associated with the urban heritage.
  • Follow-up and supervise all projects for urban heritage and develop the necessary plans for their maintenance, operation, and work hand in hand with owners to ensure the achievement of these goals.
6. Financing:
  • Expand Thameen Program to include a larger number of villages and towns.
  • Establish an Urban Heritage Fund.
  • Develop financing policies to maintain the architectural heritage and build economic partnerships, whether supporters of the business sector or adopt a documentary or renovation projects and re-use in cooperation with public of private institutions.

مركز التراث العمراني الوطني
 
المقدمة

لقد بلغت الهيئة العامة للسياحة والتراث الوطني مرحلة متقدمة جداً في تعاملها ومبادراتها نحو التراث العمراني، فالمملكة بلد كبير وشاسع ويوجد به تنوع غير محدود من القرى والمدن التاريخية والمباني التقليدية التي تملك مقومات عمرانية كبيرة ذات قيمة عالية، تستحق أن نحافظ عليها ونستثمرها من أجل الأجيال اللاحقة، وقد قامت الهيئة خلال العقد الأخير بتطوير برامج عدة من أجل تحقيق هذا الهدف إلا أنه آن الأوان لجمع هذه البرامج تحت مظلة واحدة بغرض الاستفادة من الإمكانات البشرية والمالية المتوافرة وتركيز المسؤولية في كيان واحد.
تأتي مبادرة سمو رئيس الهيئة من أجل إنشاء مركز للتراث العمراني الوطني كأحد النقلات المهمة التي يمكن أن تواكب حاجة المملكة الحالية لتأسيس كيانات منظمة ذات مسؤوليات واضحة تعني بالتراث العمراني أسوة ببعض الدول التي بدأت مبكراً في الحفاظ على كنوزها الثقافية والتراثية. والمملكة بسعتها الجغرافية وتنوعها الثقافي وتاريخها الممتد تمثل أحد أهم الحاضنات الثقافية على مستوى العالم، فالجزيرة العربية مهد الحضارات الأولى ومجال جغرافي/إنساني يعبر عن قدرة الإنسان على تحدي الظروف الصعبة وقهرها فتجارب سكان الجزيرة العمرانية تمثل أحد أهم التجارب الإنسانية العمرانية التي تستحق أن تبقى لتكون شاهداً على مقدرة أبناء الجزيرة على الابتكار والإبداع.

يدافع المركز عن "قضية" ثقافية وإقتصادية فهو يسعى إلى المحافظة على التراث العمراني وتطويره وجعله تراثاً معاشاً وحياً يساهم في البنية الاجتماعية المعاصرة والمستقبلية ويوفر مصدر رزق لمن يسكنه ويعيش فيه. هذه القضية المتعددة الوجوه التي يحملها المركز على كاهله تشكل منعطفاً مهماً في بناء وتأكيد الهوية الوطنية، فالأمر ليس قاصراً على الطين والحجر الذي يتشكل منهما البناء التقليدي بل أنه يمتد إلى "قصة المكان"، فمسيرة الوحدة الوطنية بدأت من هذه الأمكنة التي نسعى إلى المحافظة عليها وقصص الأباء والأجداد وتجاربهم مع الحياة ومحاولاتهم للتغلب على الظروف الصعبة مختزنة في زوايا الأبنية وجدرانها وفي الأزقة والسكك والساحات والجوامع. لكننا نعي أن قصة المكان يجب أن تستمر ويجب أن لا تتوقف عند زمن محدد بل يجب أن تمتد زمنياً لتشكل قصص ثلاثية الأبعاد تعود إلى الماضي وتتجسد في الحاضر وتمتد في المستقبل.

قضية التراث العمراني التي يدافع عنها المركز، ليست لها حلول جاهزة بل أنها ترتكز على الفهم العميق لظاهرة "العمران"، لذلك فهو يتشكل كخلية مفكرة قادرة على التعامل مع الظاهرة العمرانية من كل جوانبها، لا كمجموعة من التقنيين الذين يملكون معرفة وخبرة في ترميم المباني التراثية. كما أنه يسعى إلى بناء مناخ وبيئة حوار ترتكز على مفهوم "التنمية الاجتماعية" من خلال إستقطاب النخب المفكرة ذات التأثير الكبير في مجتمعاتها المحلية كي تكون فاعلة ومؤثرة في مجال المحافظة على التراث العمراني. مركز التراث العمراني يسعى إلى إيجاد ثقافة يمكن أن نسميها "ثقافة التراث العمراني" تكون هي المنطلق الذي يصنع "الوعي المجتمعي" بقيمة التراث، لأن هدفنا الأساسي هو أن يصبح المواطن هو الحارس الأول للتراث العمراني في بلادنا.

وبشكل عام يهتم المركز بالمحافظة على التراث العمراني ودراسته وتقديمه للمجتمع المحلي والأقليمي والعالم بشكل علمي رصين يبين الإمكانات الكامنة في هذا التراث وكيف يمكن أن نستفيد منها ونستثمرها لكنه في نفس الوقت يؤكد حالة ثقافية مهمة وهي "كيف نعيش التاريخ" والمقصود هنا هو أن التراث العمراني يجب أن يصبح جزءاً من حياتنا المعاشة من خلال إعادة الحياة الاجتماعية والاقتصادية لمواقع التراث. إن أحياء هذه المواقع من أجل إيجاد تراث يتعايش معنا ويتطور كذلك ليواكب تطلعاتنا الاقتصادية والثقافية هو جزء من الهدف الكبير لهذا المركز.

و يجب أن نؤكد هنا أن مركز التراث العمراني الوطني يسعى إلى أن يكون بيت خبرة وطني في مجالات التراث العمراني المتعددة سواء البحثية والعلمية من خلال تأسيسه لمكتبة وطنية متخصصة في التراث العمراني ونشره للأبحاث العلمية حول تراث المملكة العمراني وتنظيمه للملتقيات والمؤتمرات وورش العمل وتنفيذه البرامج التدريبية كما أنه يعمل على أن يكون رائداً في الخبرات التطويرية والتنموية والإستثمارية من خلال مشاركته في تنمية وتطوير مواقع التراث العمراني في مختلف مناطق المملكة والعمل على تشغيلها إستثمارياً دون أن يحدث خلل في أصالتها وقيمتها التاريخية والفنية. وتأتي الخبرات التقنية، على رأس هذه المجالات، حيث أن المركز يجب أن يكون بين خبرة تقني في مجال التراث العمراني من خلال تطوير المواد المحلية (الطين والحجر على سبيل المثال) وتشجيع حرف البناء التقليدية ومن يعمل فيها. وبالتالي فأن المحطة النهائية التي يريد ان يصل إليها المركز الوطني للتراث العمراني مفتوحة ولا نهاية لها، فإذا ما اعتبرنا أن التراث يعيش بيننا وجزء من ثقافتنا الحاضرة والمستقبلية ومورد رزق لاينضب فهذا يعني أن الاهداف لا حدود زمنية لها.

الرؤية

المحافظة على التراث العمراني وتطويره واستثماره بما لايفقده أصالته وتأثيره في تأكيد الهوية الوطنية بشكل عام وبناء شخصية المدينة السعودية في الوقت الحاضر والمستقبل.

المهمة
  • بناء منظومة مؤسسية تهتم بالتراث العمراني وتنميته وتستفيد من الموارد البشرية والمالية المتوافرة في الهيئة العامة للسياحة والتراث الوطني.
  • أن يصبح المركز بيت خبرة وطني في مجالات التقنية وتأهيل المواقع التراثية.
  • استقطاب المهتمين بالتراث العمراني من المثقفين والمتخصصين وباقي فئات المجتمع لخلق مناخ فكري واقتصادي يهتم بمستقبل التراث العمراني في المملكة.
  • تنمية التراث العمراني على المستوى المحلي وبناء وعي إجتماعي بقيمته كمصدر هام للثقافة المحلية وكمصدر اقتصادي متجدد.

مجالات المركز

يمكن تقسيم المهام المناطة بالمركز إلى المجالات التالية:
1- توثيق وتصنيف وتسجيل التراث العمراني:
  • وضع خطة شاملة لمشروع السجل الوطني للتراث العمراني. وسوف يتضمن المشروع: تسجيل وتوثيق التراث العمراني وبناء قاعدة معلومات وطنية تمكن الباحثين والمستثمرين والمهتمين من الوصول إلى كافة المعلومات والوثائق المطلوبة للتعامل مع التراث العمراني.
  • وضع السياسات التي تحافظ على التراث العمراني وإعادة استخدامه بما يضمن له حياة اجتماعية واقتصادية جديدة تتلاءم مع احتياجات العصر مع المحافظة على مكوناته وعناصره الأصيلة.
  • مراقبة تنفيذ هذه السياسات والتعاون مع جهات الدولة كافة من أجل تحقيق هذه الحماية.

2- الدراسات والنشر
  • العمل مع مراكز البحث العلمي في الجامعات المحلية والكراسي العلمية لإجراء البحوث والدراسات حول التراث العمراني الوطني.
  • إجراء مسوح ميدانية تهتم بتوثيق التراث العمراني ودراسة بنيته الاجتماعية والثقافية والتقنية.

3- تأهيل وتطوير واستثمار التراث العمراني:
  • دراسة مواقع التراث العمراني في المملكة ووضع مخططات "الموقع العام" لتطوير هذه المواقع ووضع الدراسات المعمارية والتقنية التفصيلية للمحافظة عليها.
  • دعم ملاك مواقع التراث العمراني وبناء شراكات معهم من أجل تأكيد حقيقة أن التراث العمراني ثروة غير ناضبة، طالما تمت المحافظة عليه، يمكن إستثمارها وتطويرها.
  • تطوير حقائب استثمارية تتعامل مع التراث العمراني في قرى ومدن المملكة كمجال يمكن أن يحقق عوائد مادية ووضع معايير ووسائل رقابة تحفظ للتراث وأصالته.

4- التنمية الاجتماعية والتعليم
  • بناء منظومة وعي إجتماعي تربط المواطنين بالتراث العمراني، خصوصاً الساكنين في المناطق التاريخية أو بالقرب منها، مع تأكيد إيصال فكرة أن التراث العمراني يجب أن يكون ضمن الحياة المعيشة لا مجرد أطلال أو متاحف للزيارة. ويشمل هذا الفعاليات والزيارات والعمل الإعلامي والتوعية المدرسية والاجتماعية وغيرها من وسائل الوعي والتواصل المجتمعي. كما يشمل بناء شراكات اجتماعية تساهم في المحافظة على التراث واستثماره.
  • التوعية والتعريف بالتراث العمراني وأهميتة الثقافية والاقتصادية، وتنمية الشعور بالانتماء إلى تراث المملكة الحضاري، وتفعيل علاقة المواطن بمعالم الوطن التراثية.
  • العمل على اعتبار المحافظة على التراث العمراني الوطني مسؤولية جماعية يساهم فيها كل مواطن.
  • تأهيل وتدريب الكوادر والكفاءات الوطنية للمحافظة على التراث العمراني وتنميته.
  • ربط التراث العمراني بالتعليم المعماري والحرص على تطوير برامج تعليمية تهتم بالتراث العمراني بكل أبعاده الثقافية والهندسية والاقتصادية (التمويلية والاستثمارية) والتشغيلية من أجل إشاعة الوعي بأهمية التراث لدى المتخصصين وبناء كوادر وطنية متخصصة في دراسة وتوثيق والمحافظة على التراث العمراني في مناطق المملكة كافة.
  • عقد الملتقيات والمؤتمرات الخاصة بالتراث العمراني في المملكة ومحاولة إشاعة ثقافة مجتمعية متخصصة تعنى بإحياء التراث العمراني والمحافظة عليه.
  • تبني الجمعيات المتخصصة في مجال التراث العمراني وتوسيع نشاطاتها على المستوى المحلي.

5- الدعم الفني والتطوير التقني
  • نقل المعرفة المرتبطة بالتراث العمراني (الاجتماعية والجمالية والتقنية والوظيفية) وبناء قدرات الشركاء في مجالات الحماية والمحافظة والتأهيل.
  • العمل على تطوير تقنيات محلية بالتعاون مع مراكز البحوث السعودية أو العالمية من أجل تسهيل المحافظة على التراث العمراني. وتأكيد بناء الموارد البشرية المؤهلة في المجالات التقنية المتعددة مثل الصيانة والترميم وتطوير مواد وتقنيات البناء المرتبطة بالتراث العمراني.
  • المتابعة والإشراف على جميع المشروعات الخاصة بالتراث العمراني ووضع الخطط اللازمة للمحافظة عليها وتشغيلها والعمل يداً بيد مع ملاكها من أجل ضمان تحقيق هذه الأهداف.

6- التمويل
  • التوسع في برنامج ثمين ليشمل عدداً أكبر من القرى والبلدات.
  • إنشاء صندوق التراث العمراني.
  • وضع سياسات تمويلية للمحافظة على التراث العمراني وبناء شراكات اقتصادية أهلية سواء مع الداعمين من قطاع الاعمال أم تبني مشروعات توثيقية أم ترميم وإعادة استخدام بالتعاون مع مؤسسات خاصة أهلية أو حكومية.